

Post Election Meeting

MINUTES

Council Chambers, 95-101 Alfred St, Charleville Thursday, 4 April 2024 9:00AM



MINUTES OF MURWEH SHIRE COUNCIL POST ELECTION MEETING HELD AT THE COUNCIL CHAMBERS, 95-101 ALFRED ST, CHARLEVILLE ON THURSDAY, 4 APRIL 2024 AT 9:00AM

PRESENT: Cr S Radnedge (Mayor), Cr R Eckel, Cr P Alexander, Cr M Ebsworth, Cr T

Sommerfield

IN ATTENDANCE: B Scott (CEO), R Ranson (Director Community & Health Services), J

Nicholson (Director Economic Development), C Alexander (Contract Accountant), K Crosby (Manager, Regulatory Services), T Kerr (Human

Resources Manager).

1 OPENING PRAYER

Mr Justin Kronk delivered the prayer for the guidance of Council.

2 APOLOGIES AND LEAVE OF ABSENCE

Apologies

Nil

Leave of Absence

Nil

Applications for Leave of Absence

Nil

3 DECLARATION OF CONFLICTS OF INTEREST

Nil

4 UPDATE/CHANGE TO COUNCILLOR REGISTER OF INTEREST

To be completed and published.

5 CORPORATE & REGULATORY

5.1 DECLARATION OF OFFICE

Under Section 269(3) of the Local Government Act 2009, the Chief Executive Officer is authorised to take the declaration of office of returning Councillors and newly elected Councillors.

For operational efficiency the Mayor, Cr Shaun Radnedge made his Declaration of Office on 26 March 2024

Councillor Robert Eckel made his Declaration of Office on 4 April 2024

Councillor Michelle Ebsworth made her Declaration of Office on 4 April 2024

Councillor Peter Alexander made his Declaration of Office on 4 April 2024

Councillor Teri Sommerfield made her Declaration of Office on 4 April 2024

On the conclusion of the Declaration of Office the Mayor welcomed Councillors to Chambers and acknowledged all former Mayors and Councillors.

5.2 ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR

RESOLUTION 050/24

Two nominations were received for Deputy Mayor;

Cr Ebsworth, seconded Cr Sommerfield and

Cr Alexander, seconded Cr Eckel.

Moved: Cr R Eckel Seconded: Cr S Radnedge

That Council appoints Cr Peter Alexander as Deputy Mayor who has been nominated and

elected (3-2 votes) by his fellow councillors.

CARRIED

5.3 SETTING DAY AND TIME AND PLACE OF COUNCIL MEETINGS

RESOLUTION 051/24

Moved: Cr R Eckel Seconded: Cr P Alexander

- 1 Council nominates that Council Meetings are to be held at 9:00am on the third Wednesday of each month.
- 2 That Council nominates the Murweh Shire Council Chambers located at 95-101 Alfred St Charleville as its meeting place.
- 3. Briefing Session is first Wednesday of each month commencing at 12noon for 1pm start.

CARRIED

APRIL COUNCIL MEETING DATE CHANGE

RESOLUTION 052/24

Moved: Cr P Alexander Seconded: Cr T Sommerfield

That due to previous commitments of the Mayor, the first general meeting of the Murweh Shire Council Friday is19 April 2024, commencing at 9.00am.

CARRIED

5.4 APPOINTMENT OF CHAIR OF LOCAL DISASTER MANAGEMENT GROUP

RESOLUTION 053/24

Moved: Cr M Ebsworth Seconded: Cr P Alexander

- 1. That Council appoints the Mayor, Councillor Shaun Radnedge to the role of Chair of the Murweh Shire Local Disaster Management group (LDMG).
- 2. Council Appoints the Deputy Mayor Councillor Peter Alexander to the role of Deputy Chair of the Local Disaster Management Group (LDMG)

CARRIED

5.5 COUNCILLOR REPRESENTATIVES ON COMMITTEES

RESOLUTION 054/24

Moved: Cr R Eckel Seconded: Cr P Alexander

That Council appoints;

- Cr Peter Alexander and Cr Michelle Ebsworth to the Southwest Hospital and Health Service (SWHHS) Community Advisory Network (CAN)
- Cr Peter Alexander and Cr Robert Eckel to the Queensland Corrective Services (QCS)
 WORK Scheme
- Cr Robert Eckel and Cr Teri Sommerfield to the MWDAC (Murweh Wild Dog Advisory Committee)
- Cr Teri Sommerfield and Cr Michelle Ebsworth to the Regional Arts Development Fund (RADF)
- Cr Shaun Radnedge to the South West Queensland Regional Organisation of Councils (SWQROC)
- Cr Michelle Ebsworth and Cr Teri Sommerfield to the Australia Day Committee
- Cr Robert Eckel to the Advisory Plant Committee

CARRIED

5.6 COUNCILLOR REMUNERATION, REIMBURSMENT AND PROVISION OF FACILITIES POLICY

RESOLUTION 055/24

Moved: Cr M Ebsworth Seconded: Cr T Sommerfield

That Council adopt the Councillor Remuneration, Reimbursement and Provision of Facilities

Policy as presented.

CARRIED

5.7 ACCEPTABLE REQUEST GUIDELINES POLICY

RESOLUTION 056/24

Moved: Cr R Eckel

Seconded: Cr T Sommerfield

That Council adopt the Acceptable Request Guidelines Policy as presented.

CARRIED

5.8 REGISTER OF PECUNIARY INTERESTS

That Councillors note the requirement to provide the chief executive officer (CEO) a copy of their and their Related Parties Register of Interests within 30 days of the start of their term of councillor.

5.9 COUNCILLOR REMUNERATION

Councillors noted the Local Government Remuneration Commission Annual Report 2022-23.

5.10 COUNCILLOR TRAINING

Noted.

5.11 ELECTION RETURNS

Noted.

5.12 COUNCILLOR CODE OF CONDUCT

Noted.

The meeting adjourned for a morning tea break at 10:16 AM.

The meeting resumed normal proceedings at 10:45 AM.

5.13 LOCAL GOVERNMENT STAFF PRESENTATIONS

Council received presentations from Murweh Shire staff leadership team;

- Accountant: Mrs Claire Alexander
- Director of Corporate Services: Mr Justin Kronk
- Director of Community and Health Services: Mr Richard Ranson
- Manager of Regulatory Services: Mrs Kay Crosby
- Director of Economic Development: Mr John Nicholson
- Human Resources Manager: Mrs Trudy Kerr

6 CLOSURE

There being no further business the Mayor declared the meeting closed at 11:33.